early tests for mixed media prints

These are some early tests for the prints I will be making for the Recession Art Printmaking Exchange.

Screen shot 2013-08-15 at 11.02.19 AM

This view shows the test model I created in Teddy3D superimposed over the vertices generated for the texture map by Photoshop and my drawings.  Here’s the process:

I draw the model in Teddy3D:

[photo coming later]

Then I use Photoshop to create a wireframe rendering of the Texture UV overlays:

IMG_0088

Then I use tracing paper to draw the texture for the model, here are two versions I made:

IMG_0089

IMG_0090

IMG_0091

IMG_0092

The first one didn’t work very well as you will see.  The second was a little better.  The UV overlays don’t always line up with the model in exactly the way you would expect, so there’s a bit of trial and error.  This process was very slapdash, the final version will be more specific and detailed.

My first drawing:

Screen shot 2013-08-15 at 11.03.27 AM

Didn’t line up so good!  The blue and green shows how I was figuring out the right setup in Photoshop.

Screen shot 2013-08-15 at 11.03.39 AM

The second drawing matches up much better.

Screen shot 2013-08-15 at 11.02.45 AM

This test gave me a lot of ideas about how to move forward.  There’s a lot of different options and I still need to figure out what I want to use for the screen printing element.  I’m working on some diagrams all the possibilities.

Author: owen ribbit

poop

Leave a Reply

