screen print tests

IMG_0265

While Ray was helping me burn the screen he suggested that I come back the next day on Thursday night to do some test prints before printing at home.  He said Gary would be there and he would be able to help me the most.  Ray was always going on about Gary as though he were some kind of screen printing god.  So the next day I went over to Abc No Rio as soon as I got back from teaching in New Jersey.  When I got there there were a few people I recognized working on some prints and a older guy with a grey pony tail turned away from me.  I said Hello are you Gary and he didn’t move or turn around or anything.  I waited for a bit and eventually he turned around and looked at me.  I was in my teaching clothes, slacks and a collared shirt, so I didn’t fit in at all there.  He didn’t say anything so I explained that Ray had helped me burn a screen the night before and I wanted to test it a few times before making prints at home.  Gary was pretty intense but probably a nice guy in some way.  He was super rude but in like a curmudgeonly old man way and he helped me make a few prints.  They turned out pretty good.  I had some black ink left over from another project, so I used that, but I still intended to make purple prints.

IMG_0267

That Sunday I set up in the apartment for the first time to try some prints.  The first run was pretty awful, I didn’t mix enough water into the ink and I forgot to clean the screen off between prints.  This was especially a problem for me because I am using a liquid mask to cover the digital art when I print to block the ink from that part of the negative.  The mask is sort of like glue and its bumpy which makes the ink run onto the other side of the screen a lot.  I have to be careful not to forget to clean it off before each print.

IMG_0272The second run went better and I had some prints that would be good for the texture of the 3d model.

IMG_0276 IMG_0277 IMG_0278

I also printed some random shirts but it didn’t look very good.  My bootleg setup works fine for flat paper, but the shirt weren’t flat enough and the ink ran on all of them.  I saw some cool blue fruit of the loom shirt the other day, so I might want to get some of those and make more prints, which I would probably go back to Abc No Rio to do.  I guess I should figure out if Recession Art would mind me using the artwork again for something else.

IMG_0275

Author: owen ribbit

poop

Leave a Reply

